Upon my word.

I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.


I have a deep infatuation with words. The way they melt together rhythmically to make art and tug at your heart strings has always fascinated me. Songs, poetry, books, letters—all composed of words. I feel intertwined with words the way people in love are intertwined with each other. This is both a blessing and a curse because words can be equally full of expression and passion as they can be empty. They are slippery things too often wasted in mindless babble. A word can bring love to life and wake desire, but at the end of the day, it is simply a word. It is an empty vessel until you fill it with meaning.

Words are potential.

As I see it, here is the problem: we too often squash the potential words can have by using them irresponsibly. Society has become comfortable with speaking, writing, and reading words that lack truth and substance. It has become acceptable to use the building blocks upon which our society was built on to tear people down. Instead of using words to uplift, we use them to oppress in the name of logic and realism. We speak them nonchalantly knowing they are desolate. We disrespect them and use them to disrespect. We use them to deceive instead of to illuminate. How can we be so bold to defile something of such immeasurable importance?

I think the best example we have of anyone who did right by words is Jesus. He said what he meant and he meant what he said. The words He spoke were truth and they were always thoughtful, kind, enlightened and graceful—quite literally, full of grace. Since Jesus, we have done a rather unsatisfactory job in making our words count for something. Of course, people like Shakespeare and Voltaire have bestowed their lovely words upon us, and once in a while people say or write things that leave a mark on the world or in our hearts. But mostly, words have lost a certain zeal they used to have. An ability to stick to your bones and ignite a fire within you that water cannot put out.

I can only hope that I have used my words wisely. I hope to do right by words and use them to express love. To inspire. To encourage. To irradiate. I know I have failed in doing this more than once, and I will fail in doing it again. It’s human nature. But, humans, let’s try to make our words count for something.

Fill your words with value and raw honesty. Potency.

The words we speak, the words we believe to be true, and the words we choose to listen to are woven into the fabric that becomes us. If the words that help define our being are barren and careless, where does that leave us?

Words matter.

Words, regardless of intention, always have some kind of effect.

Make it a positive one.

 

 

|Proverbs 16:24|

Leave a Reply

